www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Binary Alchemy Volume Shaders for 3DS Max
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Binary Alchemy Volume Shaders for 3DS Max

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

juang3d



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Location/Company/Country: Bone-Studio

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 2:54 pm    Post subject: Binary Alchemy Volume Shaders for 3DS Max Reply with quote

That's the point.

Can we, 3dsmax users, use BA Shaders? it's mental ray and it's not very different doing shaders for maya and doing shaders for max, so, can you do this or did you have something to use volume solid shader or is there something similar for 3dsmax mental ray, but not volume solid shader programmed by Ben Rogall because i was in contact with him and he pointed to you Smile

Please tell something.

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

My current volume shaders have description files for 3ds Max, BUT:
1) It was not possible to re-arrange parameters that they are displayed in a right category.
You have a long list of parameters in one UI.
2) The Max particle data format is not supported. So you cannot use particles to shape the volume.

This is why I do not officially support Max.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

juang3d



Joined: 17 Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Location/Company/Country: Bone-Studio

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But right now, i have the shaders from your web installed in max, but when i try to do a render of a solid vollume for example max crashes without any message.

is there some type of special workflow?

I create a mental ray map an load solid volume inside the volume slot, then i do a render and when the buckets arrive to the geometry with the shader max crashes :S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The volume shaders require a license file and that prints an error message.
I do not know if Max reacts to a MRay error with a shutdown.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667