www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Submitter software dropdown list missing applications
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Submitter software dropdown list missing applications

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:00 pm    Post subject: Submitter software dropdown list missing applications Reply with quote

Hello,

just realized that the software drop-down list in the Submitter is missing a fair amount of applications listed in
RR\render_apps\_config files.
For example, I cannot see Houdini, Modo, Mantra, Fusion in the drop-down.

That's in RR v7.00 but I think this has been like this for a long time.

Cheers,
F.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A software is not listed if no client has the application in its configuration.
Just send a "find new applications" command via rrControl to the clients.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah Ok I can see them listed now. I did the find new apps before through the Client config. Did not have the same effect then.

Also, if I submit from Houdini, the Submitter software defaults to Softimage (it defaults correctly in Soft and Maya).

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah. Needed to set the Mantra node correctly. Sorted.
Cheers !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>Also, if I submit from Houdini, the Submitter software defaults to Softimage
That is not right.
It seems that the houdini file is not read right.
Do you get your mantra output nodes with image name if you load your houdini file into the rrSubmitter?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the Mantra node does not have an output path set, the Submitter will default to Softimage and will not display the Mantra output nodes.
The default Mantra node does not have a path set, it just says "ip" in "Output Picture" field.

Setting an Output Picture path in the Mantra node will make the Submitter work as expected.

Cheers,
F.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 1:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As I am not a houdini artist:
Is ip or {ip} a variable that gets resolved to something useful?
I mean if you render the file without RR, does it render that node and what is the output path of that node?
Then the RR scene parser should replace it.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know much about Houdini either.

It is just "ip". From the doc, this default setting sends the render buckets directly to an image viewer (Mplay), so you can see the progress. It looks like the frames get stored in Mplay's RAM until you manually save them to disk (?).

http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini13.0/render/render


So I don't think it's meant to be resolved into a path, it's just an "interactive render".

Cheers,
F.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so the reader is doing right.
Perhaps it should report that you have not set any output name.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would be good for newbies like me Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, so you are now one of these guys that setup a scene and send it to RR without even knowing if your scene works without RR? And I have to find the problem why RR does not work?

Wink


Oh, and as you have probably less Houdini license than machines.
Afaik Mantra does not need a license:
http://www.royalrender.de/help7/index.html?MantraHoudini.html
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

fabrice



Joined: 08 Mar 2007
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guilty as charged! But to my defense I am so used to the "it just works, or if it doesn't I'll get a message"
Royal Render ethos that I really thought it was a Submitter bug.

And as always, many thanks Holger!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667