www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Post Script: Restart Render Machine
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Post Script: Restart Render Machine

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

kha



Joined: 19 Oct 2012
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:16 pm    Post subject: Post Script: Restart Render Machine Reply with quote

Hi,

i would like to add a post script to the render jobs, which forces the render machine to restart after finishing the job.

Can i achieve, that the post script is execting on the render machine rather than on a different rendermachine?

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Post-scripts are executed once per job and not per client.
You can create a new client command job that waits for the job.

Is there no other solution than restarting machines?
This should not be required.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

kha



Joined: 19 Oct 2012
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for fast answering.

There are some renderjobs with a huge amount of rendertime per frame. After those it would be more efficient to reboot the machine before rendering the next giant frame.

This option I would like to provide to the artist as a per job setting, not as default.

is it possible to force the post script to be executed on the render machine of the mentioned frame?
Or maybe there is a solution, which a different render machine automatically reboots the actual render machine via remote by client name?

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Dec 04, 2013 9:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am sorry, but I do not know any workaround for RR to restart after a frame.

>After those it would be more efficient to reboot the machine
Which OS do you use?
We leave our clients running for more than a month and do not have any issue with jobs rendering hours per frame.

The only Problem I can think of is if you do not have enough memory installed.
Especially if your pagefile size is variable (it should never be variable). The pagefile change slows down the machine and if you stop to render the OS has to cleanup the pagefile.


PS: You can also tile the frame with RR to reduce render time.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

kha



Joined: 19 Oct 2012
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Dec 05, 2013 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, RAM capacity could be a problem. We have very heavy scenes with more than 32 GB models on runtime!
I think I will write a service which reboots servers when defined processes are not running and the system is idle.

Thanks anyway!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667