www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - AutoDeleteEnabled with linux submitter
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
AutoDeleteEnabled with linux submitter

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 5:23 pm    Post subject: AutoDeleteEnabled with linux submitter Reply with quote

Hi,

I have a strange issue, but I'm not entirely sure where it comes from.

I tried to send a job from the command line with the windows submitter, the AutoDeleteEnabled option works.
When I send the exact same command but with the linux submitter (which is actually what I want, the windows submitter example was for testing purpose), it doesn't seem to work.

Is this a know issue ?
My entire line of option is the following :
Quote:
rrSubmitterconsole <scene_name> -AutoDeleteEnabled -NoSceneExistCheck UserName=0~<user> DefaultClientGroup=0~<group> CompanyProjectName=0~<project> CustomSCeneName=1~compo CustomSHotName=1~<shot> Priority=1~52
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the version is the same, then the functions executed are exactly the same.
Only system functions differ. Which would be the delete function.
But the only reason this fails would be that the linux command unlink does not work for the files in the folder, probably a rights issue. Please try the rrSubmitter on linux instead. If there is any additional message.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just have access to the commandline on linux, I cannot launch the submitter.
But the rest of the command works just fine, it just doesn't delete the frames before submitting. So I' don't understand how this could be a permission problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the output of the rrSubmitterconsole command?

If the user on the linux machine does not have the rights to delete files from the network server, it can not delete the files. No matter if it can send a TCP command/job to the rrServer. If you have terminal access only, then please try to run the unlink command on any file of the output sequence.

It could be something else:
You are using -NoSceneExistCheck? Why?
Could it be that the rrSubmitter simply does not know where the output files of the job are?
What is the output of the rrSubmitterconsole command?
If you check the job in rrControl, the image output is right?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 6:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, sorry I ran the script from a program and not directly from the commandline.

Now I have a real error message :
Quote:
05.29 19:03.29; Error - Error: No render config file found for software !


I'm not sure what it means. I mean, I understand the "no config file found", but how can I remedy to that ? (sorry if my questions are rather dumb, but I didn't install royal render myself on our network so i'm not always sure of where to look)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are starting it from the same RR network folder as from windows?

An RR job requires some settings like the scene name, which render application should be used, the frame range, the output image, ...
As far as I see your commandline, nothing of this is set.
And therefore I assume <scene_name> in your commandline is found on windows and the rrSubmitter reads the values from the scene.

On linux <scene_name> is not found, therefore you have used -NoSceneExistCheck.

So you have two options:
1. Tell the rrSubmitter all required informations.
(see for all settings of a job: http://www.royalrender.de/help/Usage/Submission/RR_job_files/submitfile.xml)
2. Do not use -NoSceneExistCheck. Use a valid <scene_name>.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization


Last edited by schoenberger on Wed May 29, 2013 6:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PS:
You should probably tell me what you are doing. As it seems you try some pipeline tool.
Perhaps there is probably a better way instead of using -NoSceneExistCheck
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so it turns out I hadn't a valid scene name indeed.
I changed that and removed the -NoSceneExistCheck option, but it still doesn't delete the frames.
I was trying to avoid generating an xml file, it seemed a bit painful just to send a simple file.

As for the informations (output images, etc.) they're set directly in the file, so it should be ok.

And for information, I'm trying to send some compositing files from a python application.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so you are submitting Nuke files.
What output do you get now, if the scene was found?
Any other error?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No more error. It says 1 Job send but still doesn't delete frames.

I think I'm going to generate an xml file instead. It will probably be cleaner anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Was the Nuke file created on windows or linux?
Is your rrServer windows or linux?
Have you set your OS conversion table in rrConfig?

If you hit the reset & delete button on rrControl on linux, does it delete the frames?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jroyer



Joined: 26 Jun 2012
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was created on windows. The rrServer is windows. The conversion table is set in rrConfig.
And I don't have rrControl on Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu May 30, 2013 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked the source files.
Even if the rrSubmitter is not able to delete the frames or if the -AutoDeleteEnabled is not set, it should report how many frames are there.

Please try to start the rrSubmitterconsole with the -debug flag.
Then upload the logfile RR/sub/log/submit_... via www.RoyalRender.de/upload_r.php

I would also need your OS conversion table RR/sub/cfg_global/globalconfig.ini
and the nuke file.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667