www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - solid volume issues
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
solid volume issues

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

afeigin



Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:48 pm    Post subject: solid volume issues Reply with quote

Hi Holger,

I'm investigating the solid volume in Maya 2010.

A couple of issues I ran into:
When you use transparency the color becomes transparent but the alpha stays solid for some reason. Is there something that can be done about this?

Second, on the solid volume there are no render buffers. The one I'm particularly interested in is the motion vector buffer. Is there an option to output the motion buffer from a solid volume?


appreciate your help


Alexander Feigin
Senior FX Artist
Arc Productions (formaly Starz)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Have you set your ray depth in the MRay render settings high enough?

I'm Sorry, but it is not possible to create motion data for the solid volume.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

afeigin



Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the super quick response.


I played around with the mental ray settings but I'm still not getting what I want.
The only thing that makes it somehow transparent is if I lower the refraction index. Otherwise the alpha is solid white. Lowering the ref index makes it look like bubbles with more transparency in the center. I just want them to be transparent. Anyways, this is the least important issue for me .


I'm currently deving a huge asteroid field where the solid volume shader would be ideal to use. Unfortunately without a proper motion vector pass I can not use it in production. I can do an old trick and put instanced spheres and output their motion vectors, but it won't be exact and it's too much extra work.
Please consider adding this option in future releases. will be most appreciated!!

Again, thank you for your help and best wishes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Refraction should be fine if you set it to 1.0
Do you use the setting "one single shadow ray"?
Try to set your shadow and transparency ray depth to 100 in case you have some overlaps.


It is based on particles? (fractals don't have a motion at all)
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

afeigin



Joined: 10 Jun 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, the asteroid field is particle based. It's going to have probably around 1/5 million particles that's why instancing regular geo won't work for me. Too heavy. Especially the way mental ray writes mi's. That's why the BA solid volume would have been great for this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667