www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - texture placement using Maya 3dPlacement node
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
texture placement using Maya 3dPlacement node

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

goshone



Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Location/Company/Country: hydraulx, Santa Monica

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:40 pm    Post subject: texture placement using Maya 3dPlacement node Reply with quote

I am trying to position and rotate and scale the fractal to match a piece of geometry, which is being shaded by a BA_volume_cloud driven by mesh distance. So picture the shape is a long capsule or 'hot dog' and I would like to control the frequency of the noise in a specific axis. Now imagine this hot dog to be animating around the scene, but I would like th noise to be fixed to the geo, and scale along with it, etc. Any suggestions?

I was trying to piece together a network using 3dPlacement, a mib_texture_vector, and a mib_texture_remap, but was unable to get it working. We had a setup like this at my previous employment, but I forgot how the connections worked. I also tried the BA_texcoord, but couldn't figure out how to connect it in order to get rotation.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I have not yet done such a setup, I can only give you some hints.

For volume texture coordinates you need to have a BA_textcoord or any MR node that gives you the vector "intersection point" as source.

The BA_textcoord has inputs to scale and position the texture coordinates.
You can use an expression to link them to the scale and position of your object.

But it does not have a rotation.
The mib_texture_remap takes a matrix as input, if you somehow get the transformation matrix of the object, that could work.

It could also be important that your volume object has no translation/rotation/scale.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

goshone



Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Location/Company/Country: hydraulx, Santa Monica

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I think I have found the solution for anyone looking to control the noise pattern using BA_fractal4d2_scl. Basically, you need 3 nodes, mib_texture_vector, mib_texture_remap, and a standard 3dPlacement node.
connections and settings are as follows:

mib_texture_vector:
1. set select to '-1' (from mental ray docs: selects the 3D point in space directly, and may apply a space point transformation.)
2. connect outValue to mib_texture_remap.input

3dPlacement:
1. connect worldInverseMatrix to mib_texture_remap.transform

mib_texture_remap:
1. uncheck torusX, torusY, and torusZ
2. connect outValue to BA_fractal4d2_scl.ext_coord (not sure if 'BA_fractal4d2_scl.coord' is needed, but you can connect this as well and it still works)

Now you can rotate, move and scale the fractal around in the scene, even constrain it to other objects, as I am doing. Now only if we could see the fractal pattern in the thumbnail ;^P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Thanks for the information.

The fractal pattern in the thumbnail is a Maya setting.
Wasn't that already discussed in this forum a long time ago?
Hmm...
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ha! Found it:
http://www.binaryalchemy.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=950
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

goshone



Joined: 11 Oct 2006
Posts: 68
Location/Company/Country: hydraulx, Santa Monica

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, I saw that one a while back. The link at the end of the thread wasn't very helpful, but do you plan on hooking that up in a future release? could be useful, although i have been using it for a while without it just fine. I know, I am not helping the case at all1!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, just followed the link.
Typical Maya help. It tells you everythng you need, beside the fact how you can enable/use it....
For now I thought as it is an option the user can enable himself, I do not have to do anything about it.
Perhaps I will add an information in the help pages how to enable it.

Also, I will probably create a new version until end of the year, so feature requests are still welcome.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2010 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW: I just thought about a similar scene.
With some volume around an object.
I would just create a volume BBox slightly larger than the object and constrain the volume BBox to the object.
Then it moves, translates and scales with the original object.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667