www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - RR re install
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
RR re install

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

BakedBeans



Joined: 02 Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Location/Company/Country: Amsterdam/BakedBeans/TheNetherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 10:54 am    Post subject: RR re install Reply with quote

The server which hosted our shared RR directory is down so I had to reinstall the
server and the clients. At the moment, the server is able to communicate and see the clients,
but when i launch a new job, the render fails. The eror says "output directory not found" but when we start the render manually on the same client (in batch) there's no problem.

I've double double checked if all the drivemappings are ok but still..

If somebody could help us out that would be great!

Maarten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the clients or server printing that error message into the job log?

Usally the output directory is handled as UNC path \\fileserver\share... as you can see on the job.
So the drive mappings in rrConfig have no influence on it.

If you have reinstalled the service, then try to login with the same user as the service on the machine that fails.
Then open rrControl and click on the output path.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

BakedBeans



Joined: 02 Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Location/Company/Country: Amsterdam/BakedBeans/TheNetherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply

I think the server is printing the error message. If I look in the client log (maya) the render process just stops. but everytime on a different point. We have 1 client that is able to render now, but I can't find any differences between the others.

"If you have reinstalled the service, then try to login with the same user as the service on the machine that fails.
Then open rrControl and click on the output path."


I don't really understand what you mean with this.

Maarten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If a client is rendering, then the server was able to find the output folder.


You can see who reported the error message:
Select the job in rrControl, open the Tab "log". Then the "Errors" log table.
There is a column "Where" which shows the client name.

Also check the user permissions the output folder.
If it is a new fileserver, then the inheritable permissions are perhaps not set right.


>I don't really understand what you mean with this.
You have set a service user at the rrWorkstationInstaller.
Login with that user on the client (or server) , the one that reports "output directory not found".
The open rrControl.
Click on the output name of the job.
This should open an explorer with the folder.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

BakedBeans



Joined: 02 Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Location/Company/Country: Amsterdam/BakedBeans/TheNetherlands

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We've checked all your suggestions and everything seems all right

You can see who reported the error message:
Select the job in rrControl, open the Tab "log". Then the "Errors" log table.
There is a column "Where" which shows the client name


The client reported the eror.

If you have reinstalled the service, then try to login with the same user as the service on the machine that fails. Then open rrControl and click on the output path

The output folder opens fine in win explorer

Also check the user permissions the output folder.
If it is a new fileserver, then the inheritable permissions are perhaps not set right.


When I login on the client with the same user and passw as the service and start a batch render manually from the software app, it works fine and its save files to the output folder.

Is there a way to re install the enitre service and clients? Maybe the best solution is to start fresh? I can't find a de-install function

Maarten
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To reinstall the client service, just execute the rrWorkstationInstaller.
It will remove it and install it again.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667