www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - render problem with volume solid in maya
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
render problem with volume solid in maya

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:05 pm    Post subject: render problem with volume solid in maya Reply with quote

When polygons containing the volume solid shader overlap, it doesn't seem to render the polygons behind it.



A polygon object with the volume solid shader and the density set to 1.



A polygon object with the volume solid shader with a volume noise and mesh distance on the density.


Is there a way to fix this?
I also seem to get a shadow on the volume solid shader only with the BA light shader. Is it possible to shadows on the volume solid shader with a normal area light?
I'm using maya 2009.
thanks,

arjan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found out it was the raytracing depth. When I set the refraction depth to 3 the problem is gone.
I still would like to know how to get area light shadows on to the volume solid shader if that is possible.

arjan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please set the shadow mode of the light to raytracing and the shadow method in the render settings to segment.
Otherwise, the shadow calculation should be the same.
The "Area lights" you are talking about is the mental Ray "area light" with multi-samples? or the old Maya area light type?
It could be that the maya type does compute the shadows differently. Try a point light or directional type.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your reply, I had to put the raytracing depth and the raydepth on the light to 5 to get the correct shadows. Could you maybe recommend what the fastest method is for area lights? I want to try the BA light shader, but I don't know how to use it to get area light shadows, now I only get a hard shadow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Sun Dec 27, 2009 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do not have Maya right now, but isn't there anything to enable the mental ray area light?
Somewhere in a separated mental ray section of point lights?
Some size and sample values?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2009 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes I can use mental ray area lights, but they are incredibly slow on the volume solid. I hoped for a faster alternative, maybe with the BA light or something. If I render the volume solid object wit a area light on full resolution right now, it takes one hour to render a frame.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The lights can be faster if you use the BA light shader or even better the MI light shader instead of the default maya one.
But still, area lights are slow, you have to try to lower the samples.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although the solid shader is very powerfull, it seems to be too slow for the thing I am trying to do with it. It doesn't seem to render a zbuffer so I couldn't use it anyway. Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 3:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try the Geometry_mesh shader.
That one creates real polygons.
It takes time to create the polygons, but if your mesh is not animated, it would be possible to save these polygons into a file. (there is a free shader available that can save polygons from objects at render time. I think it is called something with "save Rendermesh")
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

arjan_meerten



Joined: 26 Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Location/Company/Country: House of Secrets

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried the geo shader, but it gives me an error when I render.
I am using the distance mesh shader in combination with a lot of 3d shaders to get a rough surface.
It doesn't seem to render and gives an error like "mesh_distance is a geometry shader"
Is it possible to us the geo shader and the mesh distance together?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2009 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can use the mesh distance and pick another object.
You cannot use it without picking an other object as the geometry shader has no mesh at start.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667