www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - _broken pictures
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
_broken pictures

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: _broken pictures Reply with quote

How are broken pictures supposed to be handled?

We are getting some _broken pictures in our renderoutput. And there are 1k files with the original name (without the _broken part).
The job will render 2 more days, so I don't want to mess something up right now. The broken pictures seem to be ok it seems. So some questions (I browsed this forum a bit, but actually have other stuff to do):

1: When and why does a picture become _broken.
2: The 1k file does what? Is it to prevent to send the job for this picture again?
3: Are we supposed to rename the _broken files manually (in case they are ok)? Or what would be the correct workflow?

That's it I guess...

cheers,
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

1. If the client or the sequence check post-script is not able to load the file, it is renamed as "broken".
If a channel image of the job is broken, the main image will be renamed brokenChn
A missing image in the sequence will be re-rendered.
As you say the broken images seems to be ok? Can you open them in rrViewer?

2. Mental Ray creates the file when it starts a rendering.
If Softimage crashes or is aborted, these files sometimes stay.
The rrServer will delete the files after a multiple time of the frame render time of the job.
Or at least after all clients are done with the job.
There was a change in one of the last RR versions that the client deletes these files directly.

3.
Delete them. I will add a post-script to the rrSubmitter that automatically deletes them.
As I said the file should not be correct.
If you have a file that is correct, please upload via www.RoyalRender.de/upload_r.php
As well as a debug info of the job.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1: Post script did not run yet, because the job is not finished yet. All broken frames open up fine in rrViewer.

2: No mental ray involved, all Arnold.

3: I would rather rename them, since they seem to be ok. Just uploaded the stuff


Btw, is the search function for the rrHelp still on the ToDo list?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

2. If you use local render out, then RR creates these placeholder files.

3.Right, the file does not produce any error message loading in rrViewer.
But the client did and it uses the same image library.
I can only imagine that there was not enough time between the SI crash and the file check.
I will add a delay of half a second to wait before checking all files.
And add an error message why the file failed to load.
The next RR update will be available next week.
For now, please disable the image check in rrConfig. But enable it again after the new update for a quick test if the client will not recognize the images as done.

Sorry, the help search is still on the todo list.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, cool!
Any Ideas about how the 1k frames come into play?
Will disabling the image check work on the current job, or do I have to resend it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you have set "local render out", then the client saves a placeholder file.
Please check via rrViewer if there is a message "client x started this frames" or similar.
This is the file.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so because of the crash the placeholder wasn't deleted and we have a 1k and a _broken file with the same name. No problem.

Some more stuff:
1: After renaming the broken files, rrViewer shows preview images from other jobs when hitting 'check' on that sequence. No big deal, just so you know.
2: Is it possible to NOT resend a frame that crashed?
3: I just stumbled over the settings for "Do not check for frames" in rrConfig. Can this option be available per job in the submitter and not as a global setting in future versions (I was looking for this a week ago and didn't find it)

4: We are having some issues with clients jumping to lower priority jobs:
RENDERNODE131 - {6S9c} send ( Aa:1 Ab:1 Ba:1 Bb:1 Bc:1 C:0+1+0+0 D:1 G:1 H:1 I:1 K:1 L:1) Points:587459 (queue24795; crash-0; Prio66+; )
RENDERNODE131 - {4-Y} send ( Aa:1 Ab:1 Ba:1 Bb:1 Bc:1 C:0+1+0+0 D:1 G:1 H:1 I:1 K:1 L:1) Points:1623711 (queue24805; crash-2; Prio95+; Ultimate++; )

05.31 20:50.04
(Please see help files rrApplication/rrControl for an explanation)
Why is it going for the first job? (We have "ignore crashes" active)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.
I have never seen that. And strange as rrViewer should does only display cache files of the current job.
And only if the file size/date is equal.
If you double-click on the image in rrViewer, do you get the right one?

2. You can enable "do not check for frames" for the job in the rrSubmitter, but then you loose all checks to re-render frames again.

3. It is a per-job setting. please use the "show all" button in rrSubmitter.


4.
So far the second job {4-Y} has more points, so it should take that one.
If the client did not crash on {4-Y}, as clients never take the same job with same frame range again after a crash.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

misterdi



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 37
Location/Company/Country: Infinite Frameworks Studios

PostPosted: Mon Jun 10, 2013 9:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's exactly the same situation I'm facing with Maya + MR render.
Even RR report it's failed to verify the image as a valid image, I've checked it and it is actually valid image.

So as last resort we create a script that handle all of the broken image and rename it appropriately.

Post script may not be able to handle it as when it happened, the job assumed not finish yet.

In our case we know the issue is coming from the shader we use, that always crash maya at the end of the chunk rendered.

An extra check was done since it is a possibility a valid image is also exist and newer than the _broken__ one.

Here is the snippet of my script:
Code:
def fix(filePath):
   dirPath = os.path.dirname(filePath)
   noBroken = os.path.join(dirPath, os.path.basename(filePath).replace("_broken__", ""))

   if os.path.exists(noBroken) and os.path.getsize(noBroken)<=128:
      os.remove(noBroken)
      logger.warning("Removing %s\n" % noBroken)

   if os.path.getsize(filePath)<=128:
      os.remove(filePath)
      logger.warning("Removing %s\n" % filePath)
      return
   
   if os.path.exists(noBroken) and os.path.exists(filePath):
      if os.path.getmtime(filePath) <= os.path.getmtime(noBroken):
         os.remove(filePath)
         logger.warning("Removing %s\n" % filePath)
         return
      os.remove(noBroken)
      logger.warning("Removing %s\n" % noBroken)
   
   os.rename(filePath, noBroken)
   logger.warning("Rename %s to %s" % (filePath, noBroken))

_________________
Daniel Harjanto
http://misterdi.cgpot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Jun 17, 2013 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Please upload such a broken picture and a job debug zip via www.RoyalRender.de/upload_r.php
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2013 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Version 6.2.14 was released
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does it have any updates on this topic? It doesn't say in the changelog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has a few modifications to the clients frame checking.
Because the issue here is still open (Need the fix to confirm), it was not in the list.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667