www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Frame Padding Behaviour with Softimage
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Frame Padding Behaviour with Softimage

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

jean-louis



Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 63
Location/Company/Country: Digital Golem

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:22 pm    Post subject: Frame Padding Behaviour with Softimage Reply with quote

Hi there,

We are rendering a sequence with a frame range of 1 to 180000 (step 18 luckily!) and we are coming across a small issue regarding padding.

In Softimage the Scene Options has a padding dropdown menu which only gives a maximum padding of ####, so no problem, we just put the correct number of hashes in the Pass Options filename and that works fine for local renders.

However when the frames are sent to the farm they come out of RR padded as #### until they reach frame 9999 and only then does the padding increase.

It seems that RR is picking up the setting from the Scene Options rather than the Pass Options.

Any suggestions as to how to circumvent this problem? Any particular Config file we can edit?

Thanks in advance,

Jean-Louis
Digital Golem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

You have to modify the render script
RR\resource_deliver\render_apps\scripts\renderchannels_2011.vbs

There is a line
fname= fname & "[Frame "
and following, this is the location where the image name is set.

I will check if I can make a fix for the issue.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

jean-louis



Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 63
Location/Company/Country: Digital Golem

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Holger,

I've taken a look but I'm a bit hesitant to screw around with the script without making sure I'm editing the right parameters.
Is there any chance you can tell me exactly what to change, or shall I hang on until you've made a fix for this?

Cheers,

Jean-Louis
Digital Golem
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I can only give you the location for the fix as written in the last post.
It is the location where the [frame] variable is added to the file name.

I will have time to check the issue in a few days.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667