www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Assignment fxxk-up after removing nodes?
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Assignment fxxk-up after removing nodes?

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Bug reports - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 11:45 pm    Post subject: Assignment fxxk-up after removing nodes? Reply with quote

Not sure about this one, but...
Today morning we removed some machines from the farm. On a job that was rendering since yesterday we just noticed that some machines got deassigned, and in the job log it says 'unknown #38' receives a job.
With the deassignment I'm not a 100% sure if someone deassigned them (I don't think so). It seems more that the client IDs reordered and so the assignment changed.
Is that possible, or is it just long beyond a regular Feierabend?

cheers,
Thomas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

The job log IDs are not updated if a client is removed. So 'unknown #38' in the job log before the clients have been removed happens.

But assignments are updated if you remove clients.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
But assignments are updated if you remove clients.


Updated correctly?
So if a job has nodes 35-38 assigned and I remove 3 machines from the farm, does the job then have 32-35 assigned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

>So if a job has nodes 35-38 assigned and I remove 3 machines from the farm,
>does the job then have 32-35 assigned?

If the three rrClients you remove are listed before rrClients 35, then yes.
If you use rrConfig to remove the Clients from the list.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, cool

another thing:
'reserve cpu for logged in user' AND 'only reserve cpu during working hours'

For us it seems the cpus are reserved at all times (user is always logged in). Again not 100% sure, but we tried without reserved cpus and the rendertimes were much more consistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Just check a render log file that started at night.

In the section +++++ Environment Variables Client: ++++++
you have
rrClientCPUs
rrClientCPUsUsed
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

knekke



Joined: 28 Nov 2007
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 2:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems cpus are reserved. I'll have to investigate..

Thx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2013 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just remove the working hours X at one client for the whole time.
Then let it get a job.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Bug reports - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667