www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Detecting low cpu usage even though it's using 100%
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Detecting low cpu usage even though it's using 100%

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Bug reports - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

lithorus



Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:39 pm    Post subject: Detecting low cpu usage even though it's using 100% Reply with quote

Hi,

We have a huge problem with the latest RR. It thinks that the render client is having low cpu usage even if it's using 100%, which will make it abort the job after a maximum of 99 min. Since it's not possible to disable this feature we cannot render anything which takes above 99 min. per frame Sad

We need some kind of fix/workaround quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which version of the client are you using?
(shown in rrControl, client table, last column)
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

lithorus



Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

6.01.53L

We recently upgraded from 6.01.12 or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please update to .v55, there was a fix about the loq cpu/freeze detection:
http://www.royalrender.de/cms/downloads/fixeschanges/
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

lithorus



Joined: 26 Oct 2005
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, seems to be fixed with the update.

Just weird that it didn't mention such a critical bug on this page :
http://www.royalrender.de/cms/downloads/

Also another thing. If a 16-core machines was to do a single threaded job, it wouldn't reach 15% which is the lowest possible value for the "low" cpu value. Could we get the option to disable this feature completely?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please check the description in the config of the client, the "low" value percentage is set for one single CPU, not for all CPUs.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Bug reports - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667