www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Simple volume not casting full shadow
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Simple volume not casting full shadow

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2011 10:01 pm    Post subject: Simple volume not casting full shadow Reply with quote

I hope this is user error .

I am doing a simple render with a shader that was created using BA_CreateCloud and I am getting bad shadows .

Here is an example :

http://www.superchrishaney.com/baBizness.jpeg

The size of the sliver of missing shadow is proportional to the cell size .

Any suggestions ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 2:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have noticed that the problem gets worse if I modify the BA_PT_VolSG.miCutAwayOpacity .

This value defaults to 0.0 . Is there a chance that BA is returning values less than 0,0 for trans ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never seen such an issue.
I would need to analyse the scene.

The ray depths in the render settings have no effect?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ray depths have no effect.

I asked a former co-worker of mine if he had any ideas . He said he had the same problem as described under the post :

http://www.binaryalchemy.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1269&highlight=gosh

In his case , there were many other factors . So the nature of the problem was exactly clear .

He advised me that the only way to avoid it was to make the cell size very very small .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2011 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have confirmed that the size of the sliver is directly related to the cell size .

It seems that sliver is shadow cutout from some underlying bounding box or voxel structure .


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sat May 07, 2011 12:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is another image . I put a contour shader on everything to help visualize where the shadow is being subtracted .

I believe the first voxels along the edge in red are not passing the shadows from the front .

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Sun May 08, 2011 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Again the question:
The ray depths in the render settings have no effect?
There is a setting for shadow depth.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem persists with these values :

setAttr "miDefaultOptions.volumeSamples" 20;
setAttr "miDefaultOptions.maxReflectionRays" 100;
setAttr "miDefaultOptions.maxRefractionRays" 100;
setAttr "miDefaultOptions.maxRayDepth" 200;
setAttr "miDefaultOptions.maxShadowRayDepth" 100;

setAttr "directionalLightShape1.rayDepthLimit" 150;

If there is any other place to set depth setting , please advise.

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3785

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Please upload the scene and one cached frames to www.RoyalRender.de/upload.php
Then I can take a look at the issue for the next update.

regards,
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

chaney



Joined: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2011 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay .

I have uploaded a maya ascii file from 2011 and a cache for the first frame .

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Bugs All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667