www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - AFX/Mac/Windows?
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
AFX/Mac/Windows?

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

danasmith



Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Location/Company/Country: North Carolina/SAS/USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 7:07 pm    Post subject: AFX/Mac/Windows? Reply with quote

Before I try this out, I wanted to check and see if this is even possible. (I'm not that familiar with the inner workings of After Effects - particularly cross platform issues.)

Can we create an After Effects project on a Mac, submit it from a Mac, but render to a farm that only has Windows clients?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I am not sure about that.
Perhaps if the footage is relative to the comp file.
If you have a windows AFX, just try to open the osx file.
If that works, you can render on windows.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Augustronic



Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 114
Location/Company/Country: Aixsponza Munich

PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This scenario is working fine here.Very Happy
_________________
Have a nice day!
Aloha Achim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

danasmith



Joined: 01 Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Location/Company/Country: North Carolina/SAS/USA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Augustronic,

Are you doing anything special for the cross-platform issues? Do you need to keep all your project files inside of one particular folder on a file server?

Any additional info would be appreciated - thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

Augustronic



Joined: 13 May 2009
Posts: 114
Location/Company/Country: Aixsponza Munich

PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the late reply.
We have the source files spread over different file servers, no problem.
As Holger said, simply open the AE project file on another OS and see if that works.
AE seems to fix paths itself (most of the time).
_________________
Have a nice day!
Aloha Achim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667