www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Raylength for Maya 2009 ambient occlusion with transparency
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Raylength for Maya 2009 ambient occlusion with transparency

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

DeW



Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:19 am    Post subject: Raylength for Maya 2009 ambient occlusion with transparency Reply with quote

Hey all!

I am TOTALY new to this and totaly new to ever installing external shaders for maya so you will have to bare with me. Sorry for that.

Anyway Ive been looking around the website for an hour now and cant find any instructions or anything so I just put the folders from the zip file (version 23 of the shader collection essential btw) into my maya folder. (Hope that was correct.)

So now I have the shaders (no pictures in hypershade though) and I tried setting up the raylenght shader.

Here are all the warnings I get:
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_illum_flat_light.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_illum_rgb_shadow.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_illum_visbool.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_shadow_falloff.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_color_clamprange.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_color_mixer.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_color_raylength.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_color_rgba_combine.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_color_switcher.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_integer_switcher.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_scalar_clamprange.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_scalar_modulus.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_texture3d_warp.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_texture_cell3d.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_texture_fractal4d2.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_texture_oily_specular2.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_light.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_antiNAN.xpm //
// Warning: File not found: render_BA_dof.xpm //



I DO get a render though and the AO seems to work but how do I set up the network to make the transparency work in maya?
Can I just link this shader to any mia material?

Can someone please write down step by step how I would use the ambient occlusion of this shader to calculate the transparensy of my shaded planes?
How to connect it, what values to use, what render settings to use etc. etc.
It would be awsome to se a picture of the shading network for this setup.
Or even better! A scene file with this setup would just save me right now Smile


http://imageshack.us/ - for images
www.megauplaod.com - for files perhaps?
Just sugestions...


Thank you!

DeW



PS. Sorry for the huge post
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The .xpm files are just the icons for the hypershade. They are not required.
For the transparancy setup, please try to use the same setup as the XSI setup described in the help files.
Plug the BA color switcher directly in the surface and shadow ports of the material.
(and use the "suppress maya shaders" checkbox)
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

DeW



Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 11:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I wont worry about the xps files then Smile

But I got many more questions.
Sorry for being such a noob....

In general I would just like a discription of how to set this up in maya.
Exactly what I am supposed to connect to what.

But here are my problems more specific:


I did try to set this up as you said but I dont know what the same things are in maya.
For starters I dont even know what materials I can use but I am guessing mia materials since we are rendering with mental ray.
Then when I try to connect my color_switcher to my material (I am using a mia_illum_lambert) I dont know what the same things are in maya.
What would be the name for surface and shadow in the connection editor?

So what in the color switcher do I connect to the mia material?

And VERY important for the transparency:
How do I connect the image to the color_switcher so that it will use my transparency?
Do I have to make a specific alpha in its own file or can I connect the alpha of for exampla a Tiff file?


Thank you so much for taking your time Smile


DeW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do not use any material.
No mia_material or something else.

The color_switcher and/or the raylength shader are the material shader.
You need an emptyshading group and then connect the shaders into the mental Ray slots of the shading group.

Perhaps just apply the mia_material and take a look where it is connected into the shading group.
The shading group is the same as the last node in the XSI image. So it should have the same inputs.

PS: Mia_material does not mean a default mental Ray material. It is an advanced material form the MentalRayArchitectural Shaders group.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

DeW



Joined: 11 Sep 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 13, 2009 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay so no material at all.


So I tried this aswell but again I am to much of a noob to get it to work...
Sorry Sad

I dont know how to create an empty shading group so I took one from a mia_material and deleted the connections and connected everything like you said and what is displayed in the help picture.

But this way there is no material that I can put on my object.... right?
Atleast thats what it seems like.
When I try to assign it to the object it says assign textures material to selection instead of assign material to selection....
But you say that the color_switcher is supposed to act like the material but when I try so asign it to the object I get errors... Tried to set it up differently but I get these kinds of errors:

// Error: Texture BA_color_switcher1 has more than one material.
// Error: No object matches name: BA_color_switcher2.outColor //



I have linked an image of my shading network here:



http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7267/92479743.jpg



[img=http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7267/92479743.jpg]


What am I doing wrong?
How do I creata an empty shading group?
How do I asign this group to an object?


Thank you so much again! Smile

DeW
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here you go:
The ground grid has the same hypershade as shown in the help files for XSI:
http://www.BinaryAlchemy.de/forum_linked_files/raylength_occlusion_transparency.zip
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667