www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Help PT_textured sample scene flicker...
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Help PT_textured sample scene flicker...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:20 am    Post subject: Help PT_textured sample scene flicker... Reply with quote

I have rendered the PT_textured sample scene which looks great and renders extremely fast!

I am having problems with large flickers in the shadows. I have tried putting the Grid Muli Sampling Light from 0 to 1 and the S Detail to 2. I havnt changed any of the other setting from the sample scene. I am still getting flickering in the cloud.

Do I need to adjust some other settings?

Thanks

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
Please check the help files of the volume shader.
There is a section "Workflow/Usage" that explains how to setup and tweak the settings.
It is required to read this to understand how the shader caches shadows.

Also it seems that you do not have installed the AEtemplates scripts, have you?
Without the AEtemplates scripts you do not have a user interface for the shaders, only a long list of parameters.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have moved the AEtemplates into the route of my scripts directory. I hade them in a subdirectory which was why they were not getting picked up. The shaders make so much more sence now.

I will have a look through the workflow section.

Thanks

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still getting flickering shadows with the PT_textured sample scene. I have read through the workflow and set the Cell size so I can see some of the details and I have also set the multiple light samples per cell to 7.

Is there a problem with this sample scene or do I need to make other adjustments?

I have rendered the PT_fire scene without any flicker.

Ta

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try to reduce the cell size a bit more.
For a fast flicker test render, you can enable preview and show cells only.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have put a ground plane into the scene and rendered a frame. I am getting a semitransparant shadow casting from the boundingbox. I think this is whats causing large areas of shadows to flicker as the bounding box is changing from frame to frame.

g
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 01, 2009 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, its definetly the BoundingBox causing the flickering.

I have rendered a sequence and the changes in the BoundingBox shadow coraspond with the shadow flickers in the volume.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

grahamc



Joined: 27 Apr 2009
Posts: 20
Location/Company/Country: Red Vision, Manchester, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 02, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All Fixed!

You need to use a transparent surface shader instead of a lambert.

No more BB shadows!

I have done some test renders, and I have found that the volume shader renders very fast and without any flickering.

Great! I didn't even need to reduce the cell size.

Thanks for your help.

I will definitely be recommending that we purchase these shaders.

cheers

Laughing

Graham
Senior animator
Red Vision
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667