www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - BA Volume Cloud intersecting volume artifact
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
BA Volume Cloud intersecting volume artifact

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

Pitcher



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 114
Location/Company/Country: Gimmick VFX/Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:31 am    Post subject: BA Volume Cloud intersecting volume artifact Reply with quote

Hi Holger

I am using BA Volume 2.1 on XSI 6.5 for creating a cloud layer. It renders fine except for some density popping described elsewhere in this forum, but when I stick other objects into the cloud I get these tile sized artifacts. See image:



When playing with various parameters in the shader the artifacts change but are stil present. This is on one workstation, so no farm issue. ALso I tried ticking support for intersecting volumes, but I still have the problem. Any idea how to fix this?
_________________
Morten Bartholdy
Colorshop VFX
Denmark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

There is only one object with the volume shader used in the scene?

Do you use Rayhosting/Satellite rendering?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Pitcher



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 114
Location/Company/Country: Gimmick VFX/Denmark

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a single flat boxlike object which the volume shader is attached to. No Rayhosting nor Satellite rendering. I actually started sticking a flat grid into the cloudlayer, then when I saw the artifacts I tried boxes - same thing.
_________________
Morten Bartholdy
Colorshop VFX
Denmark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post a screenshot of the render tree?
And shaders beside BA fractal used?

All shaders are set to auto-coordinates?

PS: Your projects are still on 5.11 or only for this cloud thing?
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

Pitcher



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 114
Location/Company/Country: Gimmick VFX/Denmark

PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Holger, I found the culprit. I was using a gradient to multiply the density and forgot to set the texture projection to implicit, so no problems.

Thanks for the quick reply!
_________________
Morten Bartholdy
Colorshop VFX
Denmark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Bugs All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667