www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Max is Ready -> Render goes no further
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Max is Ready -> Render goes no further

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

IanHaskin



Joined: 08 Jul 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:21 pm    Post subject: Max is Ready -> Render goes no further Reply with quote

Newest Max 2014
VRay 2.40.04

When we kick off a Max 2014 render, it frequently hangs at this stage:

R 11| 11/5/2013 10:55:10 AM; Renderer: V-Ray Adv 2.40.04
R 12| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] ============================================================
R 13| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] Console created, V-Ray A for x64 from Jun 7 2013, 23:06:06
R 14| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] ============================================================
R 15| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] Compiled with Intel C++ compiler, version 12.1
R 16| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] Host is 3dsmax, version 16
R 17| 11/5/2013 10:55:22 AM; [V-Ray] V-Ray DLL version is 2.00.01
R 19| 11/5/2013 10:55:25 AM; Max is ready


The next line is supposed to be "R 20| 11/5/2013 10:54:56 AM; Frame # assigned", but it never happens. Sometimes Royal correctly flags this as a hung frame, and sometimes it sits there until we manually intervene.

If anyone has any ideas, I'm all ears. I suspect it's a dialog box on the render node, but I don't know how to check that.

IH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try to login at that client (with the same user as the client uses).
Then open the scene and try to render.
Perhaps there is an error message shown.

Also, time the scene load. Perhaps it is unsually long.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

IanHaskin



Joined: 08 Jul 2011
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a solution to this problem:

Add the following to the 3dsmax.bat in \render_apps\_setenv\win


:: Fixes Stupid Autodesk error reporting with InfoCenter
taskkill /f /IM WSCommCntr4.exe


Over the last half a day of rendering, we haven't had a single hung job or unexplained crash with Max 2014 and V-ray.

Just Google "WSCommCntr4.exe" to see the havoc it creates across multiple Autodesk products.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 12:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm WSCommCntr4.exe... My only experience with that one is that it always crashes when I start 3dsmax 2014.
(Autodesk cannot repro it...)

Thanks, I will do some tests.
I also have to check where WSCommCntr4.exe comes from.
All processes started by the rrClient should be closed before a new job starts.
But I assume they found a different way to start it indirectly.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> old - RR Questions - v6.x All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667